Superdrug and thoughts on animal testing

One year after Superdrug became animal testing free (in February 2010) I just felt the need to post in a few lines in order to declare my love for it. It seems not many people stroll off to the store when needing to stock up on their beauty must haves, but instead they head off for the slightly more pricey range of big name brands like Benefit, Max Factor and L’Oreal. But why? I don’t really know to be honest, because I don’t think there is much in it when it comes to the quality of the product itself, I only notice the huge difference on the price tag attached, and, of course, the cruelty inflicted upon animals.

I spot things in Superdrug that I didn’t actually know existed (maybe that’s down to me being naive, but I like to think otherwise…), whether it be a new type of shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash, face mask, soap, body lotion, hand cream, beauty gift, nail treatment – the list goes on, but the intention isn’t to bore you. They even claim to not test products that typically are, such as sun screens, hair dyes and shaving products. To top it all, items are suitable for vegetarians and nearly always vegans. And then I realise I have enough money left over from my other beauty bargains to purchase any newly spotted ones too! Yay!

I really can’t think of a better way to spend your money than on these well-priced, well-made, cruelty free products. Many people have the assumption that giving up brands that test on animals (seeing as the majority of them do) means sacrificing their looks in some way, but this definitely isn’t true and it’s time more people made the switch. Just because companies are too scared to give up animal testing and so try to mask it up, what happens behind those closed doors isn’t magic and doesn’t somehow transform the products into perfection – testing beauty products on animals isn’t a necessity as some brands like to make out. I’m also surprised by the number of people who don’t even consider it, because so many times has somebody had a quick ponder over the wider implications their purchase may have regarding animal welfare, then just said ‘Oh yeah, I didn’t really think of that’, before looking at what’s next on their shopping list. Fortunately, though, this isn’t true of everyone, and an increasing number of people are taking it into account. Anyway, I’m going on a bit of a rant now so should probably draw to a close here, but all I can say is that if you haven’t had a shop at Superdrug but are looking for more cruelty free places to go, then I definitely recommend it!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nickie on June 13, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    They invest in the canadian tar sands – thus supporting lots of canadians being evicted and poisoning water supply…

    Reply

  2. Posted by elliesvegankitchen on June 14, 2011 at 8:14 am

    Ohhh just when I thought I’d found the perfect store! I only really think about the animal testing side of it when I’m looking for ethical beauty stuff but clearly need to consider other stuff more. Thanks for the advice though, I’ll keep it in mind 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

