Vegetable shortening – Trex

This post is mainly for those who live in the UK, because from what I’ve read vegetable shortening is pretty well known in America and I probably sound like an idiot for getting so excited about it. Unfortunately I can’t say I’ve discovered any particular brand in any other country, but over here in England I have come across a wonderful thing called Trex…

I found it fairly recently and so have only used it with a few recipes so far, but honestly, it looks like it could be coming in pretty handy and I’ll probably end up using it loads. I don’t want to sound too much like an advertisement for it, but this stuff is definitely worth grabbing hold of, for the crumble in the previous post if nothing else. I make a vegan apple crumble, and I also used to make a non-vegan one for the non-vegans in the family, but I don’t need to do that anymore because apparently it really does taste exactly the same.

Trex – or vegetable shortening – is basically solid vegetable fat (instead of milk fat which butter mostly is) and is stocked in loads of big supermarkets including Tesco and Sainsbury’s, and is by far the best butter replacement I’ve found (it claims to be ‘the ideal partner in the kitchen’, and so let’s hope it’s true to word). Soya margarine is great for tonnes of stuff in cooking, but in some recipes it just isn’t thick enough and so sinks to the bottom, but this is a problem that’s solved by vegetable shortening.

Anyway, I’ve ended up babbling on for quite a bit but basically, if you have the same problem as I did, in that soya margarine is too light for some recipes, I went for about a year thinking I was limited to cooking margarine based recipes, but just get some vegetable shortening such as Trex 🙂

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] replacement – I used Trex (and you need 20% less as it contains no water, therefore used 80g), but any vegetable shortening […]

    Reply

  2. […] butter replacement – such as Trex vegetable shortening, in which case you use 20% less therefore use about 65g, plus extra for […]

    Reply

  3. Posted by kul cuthbert on November 14, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    I’ve used TREX for years now and always use for pastry baking… however I’ve come across a recipe using shortening for ‘Soft Almond Sugar Cookies’ which look delicious
    so my question is “can I use TREX?”

    Reply

  4. Posted by Michelle on May 12, 2017 at 11:27 pm

    Do you know if the palm oil in it is sustainable or not?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

